logo hometown
| News Forms | Who's Who | Railroad Festival | DeQuincy's Centennial Celebration | Come Worship--Church Directory |
| Museum visitors | Children's Stage | Brown bag lunch
| Brownell | Fontenot | Slocum | Drounett | Guidry | Ash | Prescott | Marcantel | Frothingham | Obituary Archives |
| Track takes district |
| Contact Information | Deadlines | Display Advertising | Classifieds | Legal Advertising | Inserts | Billing | Mechanical Specs |

Louisiana Railroad Days Festival

small logo
Shown above are the three parade marshals for the 2006 Louisiana Railroad Days Festival parade. They are, from left, Lynne Treme, Ranita Peterson, and Mary Jane Barbery.

Parade Marshals

The Louisiana Railroad Days Festival parade was held Friday, April 7 at 3 p.m. The parade began at Nichols parking lot with the children’s bicycle joining from the DeQuincy Exxon and then on to the parade grounds.

There were over thirty entries in the parade. The parade was led by the festival parade marshals, Ranita Peterson, Lynne Treme, and Mary Jane Barbery followed by DeQuincy High School Band, under the direction of Kevin Coker. The Railroad Festival queens and misses rode the Railroad Museum train driven by Stan Elpers.

Other royalty were ABWA Baby Miss DeQuincy, Hannah Hutto, Baby Mr. DeQuincy, Caston Perkins, Toddler Miss DeQuincy, Paige Red, Toddler Mr. DeQuincy, Caydon Dyer, and Petite Miss Contraband, and Petite Miss Louisiana, Ava and Alivia Mudd.

Organizations and businesses participating were Habbi Temple of Lake Charles, DeQuincy High School Governors Program on Abstinence, Fellowship of Christian Students, Purses and Strings of DeQuincy, DeQuincy Motorcross, Class of 85, Don Getter Construction, Jamie Cooper Foundation, Pack 155 - Cub Scouts and J & L Construction.

Mayor Jerry Bell and District Attorney John DeRosier rode the antique fire truck driven by Hershel Frazier. They were followed by a special float honoring the veterans of the community.

Representing Law En-forcement were the DeQuincy Police Dept. and Calcasieu Sheriff Dept. with motorcycle and mounted patrol included.
Various horses with rides including a horse drawn carriage participated in the parade.

Parade committee was Paralee Smith, Laura Brown, Carolyn Vitz, and Gayle Fisher.

white space About Us | Contact Us | Design ©2017 Dustin Royer. Content ©2017 Wise Newspapers, Inc.