Starks High holds athletic banquet

By Delilah Gibson

The Lady Panther Athletic Banquet was held Tuesday, May 14. Coach Jack Miller, Coach Chad Beebe, and Assistant Coaches Megan Beard Beebe, Andrea Coleman Clark, and Kay Elder were present to recognize and credit athletes for their achievements in softball, track and field, and basketball during the 2018-19 season.

A presentation was made to Coach Wade Gillete in recognition of his 10 years of support of the athletic programs at Starks High School.

Athletes were directed by Coach Jack Miller and Coach Chad Bebee to thank their parents and guardians for their commitment to them during the sport season.

Dana Shelton, the Class C 400m State Champion, was presented the Outstanding Track Performer Award and Abbie Clark, Class State C 2nd in Discus, was presented the Outstanding Field Performer Award.

Senior Awards were presented to Daegan Fountain and Codee Hyatt.

Softball 2nd Team 7-C All District Awards were presented to Mackenzie Says and Madeline Mumaw. Awards went to Sierra Hebert and Abbie Clark for being named to the 1st Team All District 7-C Softball Team.

Basketball 7-C All District Awards were: Honorable Mention Cassidy Doyle and Sierra Hebert; 2nd team Madeline Mumaw, 1st Team Daegan Fountain and Abbie Clark. Abbie Clark also made the Class C 2nd All State Team.

Softball awards were as follows: Cassidy Doyle Coach’s Award, Abbie Clark Most Stolen Bases, Madeline Mumaw Most RBIs, Ava Riley Most Improved, Sierra Hebert Highest Batting Average, Abbie Clark Most Runs Scored, Mackenzie Says Defensive Player of the Year, and Sierra Hebert Offensive Player of the Year.

Lady Panther Basketball team members were presented their PAWS Certificates and a Commemorative Team Picture Plaque recognizing their season achievements as Bi-District Champions, Regional Champions and State Class C Quarterfinalist. Basketball Letterman and Squadman were Savanna Hutson, Kennedie Harrison, Chloe Gibson, Keleigh Phillips, Skylar Alexander, Ava Cassel, Cassidy Doyle, Madeline Mumaw, Sierra Hebert, Abbie Clark, and Daegan Fountain.

Lady Panther Softball Squadman and Letterman were Hayley Johnson, Allysabelle Hollie, Rhendi Yancey, Mackenzie Says, Lakien Alexander, Ava Riley, Chloe Haynes, Isabelle DeVille, Savanna Hutson, Kennedie Harrison, Chloe Gibson, Keleigh Phillips, Skylar Alexander, Cassidy Doyle, Madeline Mumaw, Sierra Hebert, and Abbie Clark.

Lady Panther Track and Field Squadman and Letterman were Emily Gillis, Dana Shelton, Grace Gillis, Jadelyn Marcantel, Chloe Haynes, Isabelle DeVille, Savanna Hutson, Keleigh Phillips, Ava Cassel, Abbie Clark, and Codee Hyatt.

Individual Basketball Awards were presented for Highest Free Throw Percentage Daegan Fountain, Highest 3 Point Shot Percentage Madeline Mumaw, Paw Award Abbie Clark, Most Improved Sierra Hebert, Defensive Player MVP Kennedie Phillips, and MVP Abbie Clark.

Jadelyn Marcantel, Grace Gillis, Dana Shelton, Abbie Clark, Keleigh Phillips, Savana Hutson, Chloe Haynes, and Isabelle DeVille were recognized for qualifying to participate in the State Track and Field meet in Baton Rouge.

Jeannie Gibson Stewart was recognized for her tireless effort in supporting the SHS Lady Panther Athletic Banquet.